C is for California

A few weeks ago, my husband took a trip to California. He hadn’t been on a business trip since I was pregnant with our daughter.  I wasn’t quite sure how to explain his absence to the kids.  I decided to make a game of it. There are several flight tracking sites online. I picked one and every half hour or so, I would ask the kids where Daddy was. They loved looking at the tiny plane on the map and figuring out where he was. Daddy spent the most time in Texas.  We did the same thing for his return trip.

California and Geography

California

 

A few weeks ago, my husband took a trip to California. He hadn’t been on a business trip since I was pregnant with our daughter.  I wasn’t quite sure how to explain his absence to the kids.  I decided to make a game of it. There are several flight tracking sites online. I picked one and every half hour or so, I would ask the kids where Daddy was. They loved looking at the tiny plane on the map and figuring out where he was. Daddy spent the most time in Texas.  We did the same thing for his return trip.

Technology today opens up many doors for the homeschooling family. An iPhone app helped teach my son the states so that he knew where California was.  He has a couple of other electronic toys that he uses to learn about each state’s capital and motto. However, he also likes to use materials without an on button.  When we discovered that he was enjoying geography so much, I started ordering maps from state tourism websites.  I’d like to start collecting the state-shaped magnets for him to play with on the fridge.

Even though we are going with a structured program next year, I still see homeschooling as an opportunity to customize my children’s learning experience.

2 thoughts on “C is for California

  1. What a GREAT idea! You can use those flight trackers to follow a traveler AND teach geography! :) I think that I will grab your idea so my boys and I can “follow” my 16yr old to Swaziland, South Africa, this June. Awesome! Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

